Tokens: Merchant Options

Interesting thoughts on Tokens and “why and for whom”.

FinVentures

26 June 2013

My last blogs on TCH tokens were rather controversial..  several of my bank friends will no longer take my calls.. while others are grateful that I’ve shown the light on a program they are scratching their heads on. I’m a reformed banker..  only partially cured of my myopia. Banks can choose to put me on the hit list or leverage this information to refocus their efforts toward delivering value (based upon feedback I’m getting on the other sides of the conversation). I can’t imagine trying to justify $200M cash burn on this business plan. Bank CEOs.. if you can’t understand the objective in 30 minutes it is not there.

Controversial points:

  • Banks are working to build a network that circumvents V/MA
  • Focus is replacing cards on file w/ token
  • Value proposition ill formed and poorly thought through (perhaps liability shift)
  • V/MA have their own token projects
  • V…

View original post 1,703 more words

This entry was posted in Mobile payment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

